

## **IACM Medals and Awards**

The IACM Congress Medal (Gauss-Newton Medal) is the highest award given by IACM. It honors individuals who have made outstanding, sustained contributions in the field of computational mechanics over periods representing substantial portions of their professional careers. The Award is called Newton Gauss in recognition of the synergy between mathematics, numerical analysis, and mathematical modeling of physical events that underpin much of the broad field of computational mechanics. Conferred every two years. Maximum number of awards: one.

The IACM O.C. Zienkiewicz Award is given in recognition of outstanding and sustained contributions to the broad field of computational mechanics. These contributions shall generally be in the form of important research results that significantly advance the understanding of theories and methods impacting computational mechanics. However, special individual contributions in leadership and administration, industrial applications, and engineering analysis that advance computational mechanics shall also represent accomplishments worthy of recognition.

Conferred every two years. Maximum number of awards: one.

The IACM Computational Mechanics Award is given primarily for contributions to traditional areas such as computational structural/solid mechanics, or computational fluid dynamics. However, it may also be given to recognize contributions outside these specific areas. For example, the Award may be given in recognition of accomplishments in software development, scientific computing, research contributions in computational electromagnetics, semi-conductor device simulation, biomechanics or other areas that are not traditionally embraced by computational structural/solid mechanics or computational fluid dynamics, but which have general applicability to computational mechanics.

Conferred every two years. Maximum number of awards: one.

The **IACM John Argyris Award** recognizes outstanding accomplishments, particularly outstanding published papers, by researchers 40 or younger. Eligibility requires that the nominee not turn 41 in the year the award is presented. Flexibility on age eligibility may be accepted in the following cases:

- a) Maternity: Female researchers providing or having provided childcare will have an extension of 18 months per child. The eligibility period may be extended for a maximum of six years in total.
- b) Any long-term leave of absence (over ninety days) duly justified.

The Chair of the Awards Committee may require any extra documentation.

The IACM John Argyris Award for Young Scientists is sponsored by Elsevier to honor Professor John Argyris' significant contributions in the field.

Conferred every two years. Maximum number of awards: one.

The IACM Fellows Award recognizes up to 8 individuals with a distinguished record of research accomplishment and publication in areas of computational mechanics, and demonstrated support of the IACM through membership and participation in the Association, its meetings and activities. A particular emphasis is placed on individuals who have contributed to IACM through the organization of World Congresses, Thematic Conferences, and Special Interest Conferences. Conferred every two years. Maximum number of fellow awards: before each WCCM the Executive Council will establish the exact number based on the report of the Secretary General on the number of members of the affiliated societies. In any case, eight is always a maximum and this number can only decrease.



## Rules and guidelines of the 2024 IACM awards

The IACM awards will be given at the 16<sup>th</sup> World Congress on Computational Mechanics (WCCM XVI) and PANACM 2024, Vancouver, Canada, 21-26 July, 2024.

*The Awards Committee.* There are two awards committees in 2024: the Major Awards Committee (MAC) and the General Awards Committee (GAC).

- MAC is responsible for the IACM Congress Medal (Gauss-Newton Medal), the IACM O.C. Zienkiewicz Award, the IACM Computational Mechanics Award, and the IACM Fellows Award; Members of MAC: Y. Bazilevs, J. Bonet, F. Chinesta, J. Dolbow, S. Ghosh, P. Ladevèze, X. Oliver, JN.Reddy, K.Willcox.
- GAC is responsible for the IACM John Argyris Award for Young Scientists. Members of GAC: *MAC members* + *I. Arias, D. Kochmann, W.Sun.*

For the 2024 edition of IACM Awards, the IACM Executive Council has appointed Prof. P. Ladévèze as Chair.

**Voting.** The Awards Committees shall select the awardees among the received nominations in a secret vote. The number of votes each Committee member has for each of the Awards will depend on the amount of nominations received and is yet to be decided by the Awards Committees. Maximum number of awards in each category is indicated in the Awards description above; in case of a draw in any of the categories an additional voting round(s) will take place.

## Nominations.

- ✓ The IACM Awards Committees solicits nominations from the IACM Membership (and other members of the computational mechanics community).
- ✓ Each of the nominators may nominate no more than one individual for each of the awards, with the exception of the Fellows Award in which case two individuals may be nominated, upon the open call is launched.
- ✓ Self-nominations are not accepted.
- ✓ Nominators are invited to submit a two-page nomination form with 3 support letters and a CV of the nominee.
- ✓ There is no restriction on the number of reference letters a person can write.
- ✓ All members of the Awards Committees are ineligible for any IACM Award during their period of service.
- ✓ IACM Award Committee Members should not be requested to send nominations or writing support letters.
- ✓ It is suggested to all country associations to refrain from interfering in the voting process in any official or unofficial form.
- ✓ IACM EC members are ineligible during their time in office.

**Awards.** The maximum number of awards in each of the categories is one, except for the IACM Fellows Award where there will be 8 awardees.

Call for Nominations. All members of IACM (and other members of the computational mechanics community) are invited to submit nominations to the Awards Committee Chairman: Professor P.Ladévèze. Please send your nominations to the following e-mail: <a href="mailto:secretariat@iacm.info">secretariat@iacm.info</a>, before 22 February 2024.